Meeting up with… José Manuel (El Salvador)

José Manuel Ortiz Benitez / DR

José Manuel Ortiz Benitez / DR

Second part of our meeting with Salvadoran bloggers. In this second interview, I gave speech to José Manuel. He also works on the blog of Salvadoreños en el Mundo, just like Francisco. But he lives abroad, in Washington DC. Let’s go to… Washington and San Salvador… and San Miguel.

José Manuel Ortiz Benitez, Editor of Salvadoreños en el mundo (Salvadorans in the World), Washington DC

How would you define your blog in a few words?
Our blog is a device that came out from nowhere and now has over 2,000 readers a day, with the disparity of views that we allow in our publications. Our major effort is the plurality and the debate. What we try to do is to express the diversity of the Salvadorans. It has brought us supporters and detractors. Nevertheless, we follow the line of plurality and independence in the treatment of news and opinions, which is not yet possible in the Salvadoran media, despite the technological. We want to be an independent citizen media, pluralistic and with high quality content. It is a big challenge, no doubt.

What is your profession?
I am a designer (marketing, labeling, and image). When I do not contribute to the blog, I am working in my studio or I spend time with my family.

Which news have you impressed most recently?
The disaster caused by Hurricane Ida, the death of Chrisitian Poveda, the presidential election of Mauricio Funes, the defeat of the Conservative party Alianza Republicana Nacionalista (ARENA).

Three reasons to worship your country? Three reasons to worry about it?
My family lives there, there I have my memories, it is a part of the culture I have inside me. That can not change.

Your favourite place in El Salvador? And why?
The market of San Miguel, in the east of El Salvador. It is a vast space of quarrels and coexistence between human beings. When I was a child, I used to go there with my grandmother who bought me shake sweet wrapped in corn. That made me happy. This kind of markets were full of people and different products. Now I like to go back there and remember old memories.

A singer / artist of your country you would like the world to know?
I have several favorite artists: Pietro Yannelli, Maura Mendoza, Lucia Parker, Alvaro Torres, Carlos Colon – Quintana, but according to me the best is La Chanchona de Arcadio for their high Salvadoran peculiarity.

What does blogging mean to you? Which Salvadoran blogs do you read?
To me blogging is sharing. Sharing with other opinions to build a space for discussion and debate. The blogs I read: Neto Rivas’ blog, La Diáspora Opina, Nora Mendez’ blog, Jacinta Escudos’ blog and Crónicas guanacas.

What does “Latin America” mean to you?
Latin America is our big house. But nobody seems willing to strengthen its foundations. In the future, history will tell us how wrong we Latin Americans were in our determination to go each on his side.

With Christian Poveda’s death, media have talked a lot about gangs in El Salvador. Do you think it is one of the main problems in your country? Central America is said as one of the most violent places in the world. Do you feel this violence in everyday’s life?
Central America is mired in violence. The levels have skyrocketed and if nothing is done the problem may literally end up with regional democracies. The gangs control entire territories and operate their own tax systems by means of extortion and kidnapping. They have become as strong as their own government. It is a nightmare, I do not know what the solution is, but clearly with these alarming levels we cannot choose the only path of prevention anymore. We must seek immediate containment measures. The only solution I can think right now would be the training a local-community police force dedicated to the fight against gangs, highly knowledgeable of the culture and the space where they would operate.

How is the situation in El Salvador now, after Ida hit the country a few weeks ago?
The reconstruction has begun with the international aid from countries like France, Mexico, Spain, Venezuela, Guatemala, Japan, etc.. and with the cooperation of Salvadoran immigrants abroad. The problem is that the damages are very high and the estimated cost is about $ 600 million, a resource that the country cannot afford. So people will have to endure more pain and suffering, again and again.
You can also read :

Meeting up with Francisco (El Salvador)
Meeting up with Estela (Uruguay)

Meeting up with Vania (Bolivia)

Leave a comment

Filed under Meeting up with...

Leave a comment